Odyssey – Imperial Hop Zombie Blood

img_5377

Strikes me that I don’t actually blog about beer enough. So since I had a great beer infront of me I thought I’d take the opportunity to put my thoughts in print.

So here’s my review of Odyssey’s Imperial Hop Zombie Blood.

Pours a deep ruby red in the glass, creamy lacing white head.

Getting mandarin orange and sweet cherries on the nose. First taste and I’m surprised by the lack of any real carb and yet it’s not short of mouthfeel and body. It’s incredibly smooth. I’m getting more oranges in the flavour, pink grapefruit too, has a more savoury flavour too, is that beef hula hoops in the background?! Dunno, can’t quite pick it out. Will have to drink more…..

Has a real dry finish, red currants wash around your tonsils and linger lovingly demanding you to take another drink.

This is a lovely beer. So many simple IPA/DIPAs around, lovely to get a hoppy beer which also promotes the enjoyment of the malt bill that underpins it. Strong bold beer which is incredibly gulpable and yet deserves respect too. I love that Odyssey have 500ml bottles.

img_5383

Can I take this point as a chance to make the case for the bigger pour. A pint or a large bottle changes over time. You get it from the bar/pour it from the fridge, and it’s fresh chilled and refreshing, get a few gulps out the way and the beer warms slightly, the chill goes and more flavours become apparent. But more than that, the carb settles, the beer gets into its stride and shows off far more as you work down the quantity. There’s and art to beers which work well in bigger pours, but those qualities greatly appeal to me. Shorter thirds/halves or 330ml bottles/cans can miss out on that ‘journey’ (to quote the xfactor…).

Anyhoo, here’s to Odyssey and their bigger bottles. Fantastic beer deserves a bigger pour!!!!

Leave a Reply

