#12beersofxmas day 2 Buxton/Omnipollo Rocky Road Ice Cream

IMG_4902.JPG

Let’s face it, if anyone had said to me 5 years ago that I’d be sat here drinking rocky road ice cream flavoured beer Id have called them crazy. Yet here I am.

A collab between Omnipollo, Omni meaning ‘one’, pollo meaning ‘goal to make the best, most bonkers beer on the planet’. Sorry what? Is my google translate playing up again?  That’s what that name translates to me anyway.

Married with Buxton, now Buxton continuously bring out consistently amazing beers. Seriously, tell me one of their beers which isn’t amazing. There you go, you can’t.

So putting the two together can only bring great things. Yellow Belly has already proven their quality in collaborating. I’ve had the original vanilla ice cream pale a couple of times and it’s genuinely amazing on keg. I was a little less fussed on the bottles but I guess part of the ice creaminess is the mouthfeel which I didn’t feel had the same quality from the bottle.

Enough about that though, this is a different beast. Aroma is boozy marshmallows, sweet and almost sickly.  But then on first taste the flavours are more balanced.  It’s sweet, oh yes it sweet but then so would a slice of rocky road be! The marshmallow flavours are there, there’s an abundance of chocolate too. Creamy dairy milk not cheap cooking chocolate.  Ooo yes I likey!

 

 

Leave a Reply

