#12beersofxmas Day 1 – Hardknott Rhetoric edition 4.1

img_4882

Here’s a beer that I’ve been very interested to try.  Hardknott are a very good brewery, often forgotten about.  I think what’s drawn me to them over the years are the very open and honest blogs from @hardknottdave giving some fascinating background to the beers that I’m drinking.  That goes a long way for me.

So to the beer.  On cracking the cap, very little ‘pfft’…. on pour, it’s clearly thick, using a spoon to scrape the beer out the bottle!

Oh my that smells good. Incredible chocolate aroma with booze soaked dried juicy sultanas and raisins enticing me to take a sip.

Oh and that first sip doesn’t disappoint. It’s everything the pour and aroma hinted at, but more so!  I’m in a crushed velvet suit, smooth on my skin, toasty warm and cosy. It’s got me planted on the sofa, heart warming glow, feeling all festive and full of Christmas spirit. Tonight would have been a good night for a charitable door knock (thankfully there have been none).

The beer is complex. This has been in the shed for months so is served quite cold which made the lovely initial chocolate flavours prominent. Now that it’s warming there’s more edge to it.  Chocolate and juicy raisins remain in the flavour but the beer warming gives more bitterness to the chocolate, it feels earthy and rounded.

The boozy edge grows too. Proud and unashamed. Fine by me, this isn’t an easy sessionable beer, it’s a full body deep tissue massage, leaving me feeling challenged and energised as a result. You take your time with a beer like this.  Savoured!

Cant wait for tomorrow’s beer now!!!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

