Day 2 #12beersofxmas Caribbean Chocolate Cake by Siren Brewery

image

Day 2 and firstly an apology for keeping you up so late on what is a school night for some of us! Dionne and I have been to a local carol concert getting all festive and in the Christmas spirit. We’ve had a great night!

Whats topped it off was coming home to another great beer. Siren are a brewery I keep a close eye on, they seem to produce such random beers but all of which are nigh on perfectly pitched for their style. Last year I thoroughly enjoyed their Tickle Monster, I have recently been blown away by their Uncle Zester so I was pleased to get a chance to try their Caribbean Chocolate Cake.

First the aroma, there’s strong fruits in there, raisins and dark berries with a background of rum. The booze isn’t a strong aroma though.

The taste reaffirms those aromas. What surprised me was the texture. It’s more porter in style than stout but isn’t a poor beer as a result. Far from it. It’s juicy with a rich rum running through it which brings out the best in those fruitier flavours.

image

The roast flavours are mild, still there, but mild. You get hints of coffee and chocolate but not too dominant.

Day two and I think if yesterday was at 80%, this has taken it to 88%. Still room to grow but I’m in the torque zone! Loving these beers, I do save dark beers up for this and it’s great to finally get stuck into them. Also, loving everyone else getting involved. So many great beers, so many great blogs and most importantly of all so much good conversation being had. That’s what it’s all about!

Its our works Christmas night out tomorrow so I may not get my blog post written, or my beer drunk but we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

